Content

Pinch Hopper | Deck and Rulings

This page notes details of Pinch Hopper (EARTH/Insect/Effect Monster) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Top Story
Yami Marik event part 2 is live now!
update 03/03/2017

Pinch Hopper

Pinch Hopper
AttributeEARTH
Monster TypeInsect
Card typeEffect
Card Effect TypeTrigger Effect
Level★4
Passcode26185991
ATK1000
DEF1200
SupportsInsect

text

When this card you control is sent to your Graveyard: You can Special Summon 1 Insect-Type monster from your hand.

How to Get / Rarity

PackFlame of the Tyrant [R]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
Other--

Evaluation

Rating7.0/10

Pros

  • Can special summon high level insect monsters quickly
  • Usefulness will scale well with newer cards

Cons

  • Weak stats
  • Can only special summon Insect type only and must be from hand

Tips

Classifications

Summoning categoriesSpecial Summons from your hand

Other Articles

List of Cards by Card Types

List of Cards by Levels

Comments

Hot New Top
Gilgamesh
I also get the message that I missed the timing to use Pinch Hopper's effect. Aparrently, the effect does not apply if you use Pinch Hopper to tribute summon a monster. But the description is very clear: the effect happens when the card is sent to the graveyard. There is no "ifs" here, so I think it's a bug.
<< Anonymous(Gilgamesh)
Anonymous Reply
You've obviously never played yu-gi-oh in real life. It's not a "bug". Stop being stupid. http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Missing_the_timing http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Pinch_Hopper
<< Anonymous
Get a life Reply
And you'very probably never touched a real boob... it's a "kids" card game that people are just trying to learn and enjoy. There is a real world beyond prismatic glossy.... so.... stop being stupid. "Why so serious....?"
<< Anonymous(Gilgamesh)
Anonymous Reply
yeah pinch hopper was literally a bug
Anonymous
Can someone explain why Pinch Hoppers effect works when it was tributed by Summoner of illusion?
Shouldnt the last effect be "a fashion monster special is summoned"?
<< Anonymous
fashion Reply
Summoner of Illusion's effect reads "Tribute 1 other monster, AND IF YOU DO, Special Summon 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck". Due to the way it's worded, "and if you do", both effects are actually happening simultaneously, meaning that both the tribute and the fusion summon are the last thing to happen, so Pinch Hopper activates. Hope this helps!
<< Anonymous(fashion)
option Reply
summoner of illusions effect is not a fusion summon!
Get a life
Hey all unconstructive people here who are frustrated explaining things to people who maybe are just trying to truly understand.... don't comment if it bothers you. Your life will be more complete. To those who keep supporting understanding of the game.... you all are very much appreciated.
You're All Dumb
The amount of people who don't know the rules of Yu-Gi-Oh is staggering... A little bit of basic game understanding goes a long way, everyone.

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Missing_the_timing http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Pinch_Hopper
Anonymous
Anyone know why pinch hopper effect doesn't active when i using it for insect imitation?
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
Pinch Hopper effect activates when he is on your field and than is sent to the graveyard. His effect triggers when he touches the graveyard immediately! Insect imitation tributes Pinch Hopper + SS another monster! The problem is Pinch Hopper effect + SS are happening at the same time. The tribute is the first part of the spell. You still have to finish the spell by doing the SS. Continue...
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
Normally, when 2 things happen at the same time a chain will happen. The problem is a chain can't happen here! The reason why is because once you finish the second part of the spell I.E SS another monster. Pinch Hopper is in the graveyard! His effect only actives when he is first sent to the grave which is before you SS. Once you have finished SS. His effect doesn't exist any more. Continue...
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
You are missing the "Missing the timing of his effect". He only has a brief "Window" to do his effect. Insect imitation sadly doesn't work with him. However, It is good information to know. It can help you think of different strategy or you can try to use Insect on another monster.
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
Insect Imitation* on another monster* Sorry for the typo's.
Tackrad
Can someone tell me if LDs won't attack this
card
Anonymous
If i understand if this effect trigger in the middle of the effect the another Card do you miss the time to active him?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Well...sorry Im not convinced
Anonymous
but why you can use the effect of "ancient dragon", when at the same time is triggered "golden aple"?

Ancient Dragon say "when ..., then you can" same like the pinch hopper!
Anonymous
PSA
To clarify for everyone curious as to why you can't activate the effect after tributing:
"When"-"you can" effects miss their activation window if they're not the last thing to happen. So, if you tribute him, the last thing to happen is the monster being tribute summoned, not hopper going to grave.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
When the GK Recruter is tributed the effect works. It's not the same thing?
<< Anonymous
answering below Reply
recruiter is mandatory so it cannot miss timing
<< Anonymous
explaining below Reply
Gravekeeper's Recruiter effect is "When"- only, different with "When"-"you can" effect. That's a mandatory effect, means if the condition ever meet, the effect will always active except being negated (eg. by card effect). The other similar effect type is "If"-"you can". To be simple, it's the same as "When"- only effect except you can choose to active it or not. CMIIW.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Blue Dragon Summoner = "If" - "You Can". So, you say it's the same as "When"- "you can", but it's not - because BDS works with a Tribute.
Mike
Missing the timing: Because the effect of "Pinch Hopper" effect is an optional "when... you can" Trigger Effect, "Pinch Hopper" being sent to the Graveyard has to be the very last thing that happened in order for you to activate its effect. So if you Tribute "Pinch Hopper" for a Tribute Summon, you cannot activate the effect of "Pinch Hopper" because the last thing to happen will be the Summoning of the Tribute monster. Also, if you Tribute "Pinch Hopper" for "Cannon Soldier", the very last thing that happened will be the 500 points of damage inflicted to your opponent, so the effect of "Pinch Hopper" will not activate.
Balvorn
Hey everyone,

Sometime, when the pinch hopper is killed by an other monster, there is an electric effect on the card and I can't use the special effect of the card. It's the same when I suicide the card on a bigger monster. Is that normal ?
How can I trig the effect correctly ?
<< Anonymous(Balvorn)
Pugsley Reply
That means that the effect was negated. This can be caused by a handful of cards like wicked flaming breaking flamberge and some of the element monster!
<< Anonymous(Balvorn)
Balvorn Reply
Hmmm I should be more attentive next time :/ Ty dude ! Have a nice day !
Nerobyrne
This monster will not function if there is currently an effect on the stack.
Example:
*if you sacrifice this card as a cost for activation, the effect will not work. Message: "Missed chance to activate effect!" will be displayed.
<< Anonymous(Nerobyrne)
Gilgamesh Reply
It makes no sense. The description is very clear: "When this card you control is sent to your Graveyard". Well, if you use pinch hopper to tribute summon a monster, it is sent to the graveyard, no doubt about that. The effect should apply in this case.
<< Anonymous(Nerobyrne)
Anonymous Reply
Game Rules and Language Rules are not the same.

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Popular pages

DD Tower: WATER

Yami Marik Returns II: Unleash the Egyptioan God Card

Event guide

Yami Marik Lvl 40

New pack: Blades of Spirits

Decks to farm LDs

Booster packs

Available card boxes
The Ultimate RisingAge of DiscoveryNeo-ImpactFlame of the TyrantValkyries Rage
Wonders of the SkyChaotic ComplianceLand of the TitansCrimson KingdomDawn of Destiny
Electric OverloadEchoes of SilenceServants of KingsGalactic Origin
Blades of Spirit----

Menu

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

rip farming feel bad for you now gtfo and start searching for a real fucking job
lol It's not that bad, this card is not essential.
hey guys fuck you all
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site