Content

Pinch Hopper | Deck and Rulings

This page notes details of Pinch Hopper (EARTH/Insect/Effect Monster) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
Structure Deck EX: Thousand Illusion
update 03/03/2017

Pinch Hopper

Pinch Hopper
AttributeEARTH
Monster TypeInsect
Card typeEffect
Card Effect TypeTrigger Effect
Level★4
Passcode26185991
ATK1000
DEF1200
SupportsInsect

text

When this card you control is sent to your Graveyard: You can Special Summon 1 Insect-Type monster from your hand.

How to Get / Rarity

PackFlame of the Tyrant [R]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
Other--

Evaluation

Rating7.0/10

Pros

  • Can special summon high level insect monsters quickly
  • Usefulness will scale well with newer cards

Cons

  • Weak stats
  • Can only special summon Insect type only and must be from hand

Tips

Classifications

Summoning categoriesSpecial Summons from your hand

Comments

Hot New Top
Anonymous
Anyone know why pinch hopper effect doesn't active when i using it for insect imitation?
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
Pinch Hopper effect activates when he is on your field and than is sent to the graveyard.

His effect triggers when he touches the graveyard immediately!

Insect imitation tributes Pinch Hopper + SS another monster!

The problem is Pinch Hopper effect + SS are happening at the same time.

The tribute is the first part of the spell. You still have to finish the spell by doing the SS.

Continue...
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
Normally, when 2 things happen at the same time a chain will happen.
The problem is a chain can't happen here!

The reason why is because once you finish the second part of the spell I.E SS another monster.

Pinch Hopper is in the graveyard!
His effect only actives when he is first sent to the grave which is before you SS.

Once you have finished SS. His effect doesn't exist any more.

Continue...
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
You are missing the "Missing the timing of his effect". He only has a brief "Window" to do his effect. Insect imitation sadly doesn't work with him.

However, It is good information to know. It can help you think of different strategy or you can try to use Insect on another monster.
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Player J Reply
Insect Imitation* on another monster*

Sorry for the typo's.
Gilgamesh
I also get the message that I missed the timing to use Pinch Hopper's effect. Aparrently, the effect does not apply if you use Pinch Hopper to tribute summon a monster. But the description is very clear: the effect happens when the card is sent to the graveyard. There is no "ifs" here, so I think it's a bug.
<< Anonymous
Get a life Reply
And you'very probably never touched a real boob... it's a "kids" card game that people are just trying to learn and enjoy. There is a real world beyond prismatic glossy.... so.... stop being stupid. "Why so serious....?"
<< Anonymous(Gilgamesh)
Anonymous Reply
yeah pinch hopper was literally a bug
<< Anonymous
Mark741 Reply
xD

But true, I just got this and that is messed up :S
<< Anonymous(Gilgamesh)
Anonymous Reply
For all I know, every card that states 'when this card was sent from the field to graveyard', only work if it took place last. So it won't work if it was used as tribute summon / ritual summon / synchro summon material. That's why GameA suggests Aerosol.
Anonymous
PSA
To clarify for everyone curious as to why you can't activate the effect after tributing:
"When"-"you can" effects miss their activation window if they're not the last thing to happen. So, if you tribute him, the last thing to happen is the monster being tribute summoned, not hopper going to grave.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
When the GK Recruter is tributed the effect works. It's not the same thing?
<< Anonymous
answering below Reply
recruiter is mandatory so it cannot miss timing
<< Anonymous
explaining below Reply
Gravekeeper's Recruiter effect is "When"- only, different with "When"-"you can" effect. That's a mandatory effect, means if the condition ever meet, the effect will always active except being negated (eg. by card effect). The other similar effect type is "If"-"you can". To be simple, it's the same as "When"- only effect except you can choose to active it or not. CMIIW.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Blue Dragon Summoner = "If" - "You Can".

So, you say it's the same as "When"- "you can", but it's not - because BDS works with a Tribute.
Balvorn
Hey everyone,

Sometime, when the pinch hopper is killed by an other monster, there is an electric effect on the card and I can't use the special effect of the card. It's the same when I 🔥 the card on a bigger monster. Is that normal ?
How can I trig the effect correctly ?
<< Anonymous(Balvorn)
Pugsley Reply
That means that the effect was negated.
This can be caused by a handful of cards like wicked flaming breaking flamberge and some of the element monster!
<< Anonymous(Balvorn)
Balvorn Reply
Hmmm I should be more attentive next time :/
Ty dude !

Have a nice day !
BaconLad
I keep seeing an issue with this card that says "You missed your window to activate pinch hopper's effect" But i haven't been able to find a consistent instance where this happens.
<< Anonymous(BaconLad)
Flay Reply
That also happened to me recently. When I tribute summon using this monster, it says you missed to activate its effect. Maybe it needs to be destroyed, rather than sacrifice? Or a bug?
<< Anonymous(BaconLad)
Anon Reply
I think you need to edit settings in game.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0mWmPmVphE&feature=youtu.be
Anonymous
Can someone explain why Pinch Hoppers effect works when it was tributed by Summoner of illusion?
Shouldnt the last effect be "a fashion monster special is summoned"?
<< Anonymous
fashion Reply
Summoner of Illusion's effect reads "Tribute 1 other monster, AND IF YOU DO, Special Summon 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck".

Due to the way it's worded, "and if you do", both effects are actually happening simultaneously, meaning that both the tribute and the fusion summon are the last thing to happen, so Pinch Hopper activates. Hope this helps!
<< Anonymous(fashion)
option Reply
summoner of illusions effect is not a fusion summon!
Nerobyrne
This monster will not function if there is currently an effect on the stack.
Example:
*if you sacrifice this card as a cost for activation, the effect will not work. Message: "Missed chance to activate effect!" will be displayed.
<< Anonymous(Nerobyrne)
Gilgamesh Reply
It makes no sense. The description is very clear: "When this card you control is sent to your Graveyard". Well, if you use pinch hopper to tribute summon a monster, it is sent to the graveyard, no doubt about that. The effect should apply in this case.
<< Anonymous(Nerobyrne)
Anonymous Reply
Game Rules and Language Rules are not the same.
Jean
Why the card 'Blue Dragon Summoner' which have an effect similar to 'Pinch Hopper' active in a lot of different situations while 'Pinch Hopper' no?
<< Anonymous(Jean)
Anonymous Reply
Optional effects that use the word "when", such as Pinch Hopper, can miss their timing. Optional effects that use "if", such as Blue Dragon Summoner, cannot.
<< Anonymous(Jean)
Anonymous Reply
hmmmmmmm
Anonymous
When I sacrifice it to invocate a insect type , I can't use the effect ?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
no
Anonymous
If i understand if this effect trigger in the middle of the effect the another Card do you miss the time to active him?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Well...sorry Im not convinced
Nick
Remember!!! This is intended for OPTIONAL EFFECTS only (an action which requires your placet/input).

Consider cards as "Radiant Jeral" or "Skull-Mark Ladybug". Both cards trigger in "when".
If you tribute these cards you can activate their effects. Indeed these effects do not require any action and they are applied automatically (no optional effect).
<< Anonymous(Nick)
Anonymous Reply
Keep in mind all mandatory effects these days use "if" rather than "when", though. It's only when you get to older cards like the ones you mentioned that that distinction even matters.
Anonymous
Can this summon the great moths?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Read Great Moth and you'll have your answer.

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Thank you for visiting Duel Links wiki by GameA! We update this Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links community day by day to provide quality guides and the latest news.

Duel Links Wiki Updates

Duel Links News & Events

Structure Deck EX: Thousand Illusion

Raid Duel - Bond Beyond Time: Paradox vs The Three Duelists Event

43rd Main Box: Braver Victory

77.7 Billion Card Distributed Celebration Campaign

Upcoming events [December]

Leaked Characters

Yu-Gi-OH Vrains

Vrains Characters

How to beat/farm Legendary Duelists Lvl 40

Vrains Leaked Characters

Yu-Gi-Oh Arc V

Arc V Characters

How to beat/farm Legendary Duelists Lvl 40

Yu-Gi-Oh Zexal

Legendary Duelists

How to beat/farm Legendary Duelists Lvl 40

Other Zexal Duelists

Yu-Gi-Oh Dark Side of Dimension [DSOD]

Legendary Duelists

How to beat/farm Legendary Duelists Lvl 40

Yu-Gi-Oh 5D's

Legendary Duelists

How to beat/farm Legendary Duelists Lvl 40

Useful links

Forums

Decks

Decks to farm LD Lvl 40

Characters (Legendary Duelists)

Yu-Gi-Oh! (DM)

Yu-Gi-Oh! GX

Related pages

Accessories

Card Sleeves & Game Mats

Booster packs/Card Trader

Card Trader & Ranked Rewards

Card TraderRanked Rewards

Card Trader

Ranked Rewards

Card box

Available card boxes
The Ultimate RisingAge of DiscoveryNeo-ImpactFlame of the TyrantValkyries Rage
Wonders of the SkyChaotic ComplianceLand of the TitansCrimson KingdomDawn of Destiny
Electric OverloadEchoes of SilenceServants of KingsGalactic Origin
Blades of Spirit Primal BurstResonance of ContrastAbyss EncounterRampage of the Forest
Valiant SoulsVisions of IceCrusaders BattlegroundClash of WingsBurning Nova
Empire of ScarletGaia GenesisStardust AccelerationPower of BraveryBlackstorm Rising
Secrets of the AncientsRevolution BeginningTornado of PhantomsAbsolute InfernoDimension of the Wizards
Warriors UniteLords of ShiningBlazing RoseGuardians of RockCybernetic Rebellion
Curse of DreadValhalla CallingDark DimensionSpirit of the BeastAerial Assault
Soul of ResurrectionFuture HorizonMasters of ShadowJudgement ForceFortress of Gears
Truth UniverseFlames of the HeartWitchs SorceryChronicle of GloryInfernity Destruction
Arena of SanctuaryShining HopeVoltage of the MetalShark FangRage of Volcano
Infinite RayPhotons of GalaxyAntinomic TheorySign of HarpiesEternal Stream
The King of VermillionDarkness GimmickArts of AtlantisPendulum GenesisIdea of Armageddon
Chaotic SoldiersForce of InfinityFantastic ArcPhantom of RebellionMaximum Gustav
Heart of XyzShining SunriseStars of SynchroLink RevolutionStage of Trickstar
Braver Victory

Selection Box

Selection Boxes
Selection Box Vol. 01Selection Box Vol. 01 MiniSelection Box Vol.01 Super MiniSelection Box Vol. 02Selection Box Vol. 02 Mini
Selection Box Vol. 03Selection Box Vol.03 MiniSelection Box Vol.04Selection Box Vol.04 MiniSelection Box Vol.05

Structure decks

Structure decks
Sorcerers AllianceDragonic ForceHero RisingLegendary WarriorsDestiny Rulers
Dragonic KnightsSpellbound SilenceSynchro ConnectionThe White Dragon of LegendSwordbound Silence
Ancient Gear AwakeningNeos FusionReturn of the Red-EyesFull Metal DesperadoMaster of Chaos
Kings ResonanceDragunity OverdriveGladiators StormHERO GenerationReturn of the Fire Kings
Gagaga XyzTales of the Noble KnightsBlue-Eyes EvolutionStardust NexusRise of Gaia
Evil DominationMagicians ArcD/D/D ApocalypseCyber Style ExtremeSword of Paladin
Tellarknight AdventBrave HopeRuddy Rose BurningCyberse CodeThousand Illusion

Other Pages

Duel Links Basics

FAQ

Standard duelists & Legendary Duelist Lvl 30

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

Can be summoned from the graveyard by monster reporn
Yugioh duel links tea dm ritual. Master
Yes. Very much so.
It usually happens to me too when I activate "trap hole of spikes"
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site