If a Level 7 or lower "Red-Eyes" monster(s) you control, except "Red-Eyes B. Chick", is destroyed by your opponent's attack or card effect and sent to your Graveyard: You can Special Summon this card from your hand in Defense Position, and if you do, Special Summon as many of those destroyed monsters as possible in the same battle position they were in when destroyed. You can Tribute this card; you can Normal Summon 1 "Red-Eyes" monster during your Main Phase this turn, except "Red-Eyes B. Chick", in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.)
Cannot control battle position revived monster is summoned in.
Must tribute himself to gain additional summon.
Here are some of the Monsters that can trigger the Special Summoning condition of Red-Eyes Retro Dragon.
Red-Eyes Slash Dragon is able to revive a Monster equipped to itself when he is destroyed. Combined with Red-Eyes Retro Dragon Special Summoning himself and reviving Red-Eyes Slash Dragon, this combo can quickly swarm your field.
This is very good if you know what you are doing. This card has two effect. The first effect. Example if your two red eyes on the field got destroy and send to the grave you can special summon those destroy two red eyes dragon back to the field and also special summon Red-Eyes Retro Dragon to the field as well. I screw so many people when i summon Obelisk, they instantly surrender.
The second effect is sometimes useful depend on the situation that you are in. Example i can normal summon this card to the field and tribute summon, then i can activate this card to summon any red-eyes monster from my hand to the field.
This is what i would do if i so happen to have obelisk in my hand, just to play for fun. I never really play this deck for a long time. I would recommend to mix in a warrior tuner for synchro summon to give a more flexible to the deck. Also fusion material summon option for Red-Eyes Slash Dragon. Just relying on pure red eyes dragon won't reach to KOG.
The second effect doesn’t work. I summon this card, tribute it for my red eyes in my hand but it doesn’t give me the effect. Am I doing something wrong? Or is it not working correctly?
When you tribute this card, you don't tribute summon using it as material to set it off. The "tribute" is a cost that you activate on the card. After that, you can Normal Summon another Red-Eyes monster assuming you have the tributes (lvl 5 or higher) or a free space on your board (lvl 4 or lower)
I wonder if they'll give this card an errata in DL considering "Red-Eyes B. Chick" no longer exist, even in DL.