Content

Magician of Dark Illusion | Decks and Ruling

This page notes details of Magician of Dark Illusion (DARK/Spellcaster/Effect Monster) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
Tyranno unlock event!
update 14/01/2019

Magician of Dark Illusion

Magician of Dark Illusion
AttributeDARK
Monster TypeSpellcaster
Card typeEffect
Card Effect TypeContinuous Effect / Condition / Trigger Effect
Level★7
Passcode35191415
ATK2100
DEF2500
SupportsDark Magician
Related to ArchetypesDark Magician

text

This card's name becomes "Dark Magician" while it is on the field. You can only use each of these effects of "Magician of Dark Illusion" once per turn.● During your opponent's turn, if you activate a Spell/Trap Card or effect (except during the Damage Step): You can Special Summon this card from your hand.● If you activate a Spell/Trap Card or effect while this card is face-up on your field (except during the Damage Step): You can target 1 "Dark Magician" in your Graveyard; Special Summon it. This effect can only be used once while this card is face-up on the field.

How to Get

Pack--
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
OtherDuelist Chronicle: Battle City Showdown! [UR]
Epic Yami Event [UR]

Evaluation

RatingB+

Pros

  • Can be special summoned.
  • Treated as Dark Magician while on the field.
  • Revives Dark Magician.

Cons

  • Can only be special summoned when you activate a Spell/Trap card during your opponent’s turn.

Tips

  • Magician of Dark Illusion can be used in almost any deck that has a decent amount of Spell/Trap cards they can flip during the opponent’s turn.

Dark Magician Support

Because Magician of Dark Illusion is treated as a Dark Magician on the field. Here are some support cards you can use with him. Using these cards during your turn will also trigger Magician of Dark Illusion to revive your Dark Magician.

Upgrade

You can use these cards to tribute Magician of Dark Illusion and special summon a stronger monster from your deck. Use Dedication Through Light and Darkness to summon Dark Magician of Chaos. Use Knight’s Title to summon Dark Magician Knight. And before Magician of Dark Illusion is tributed you will be able to revive Dark Magician.

Decks

Rulings

Classifications

Summoning categoriesSpecial Summons itself from your hand / Special Summons from your Graveyard
Stat changesTreated as alternate name

Comments

Hot New Top
Mike
Just a random comment to confirm that the effect id not triggering for some cards:
-ennemy controler during opponent main phase : ok
-dna surgery during opponent main phase : not working
-wall of disruption during the battle step (not damage step) : not working

Pretty sure it was working fine a week ago... wtf?
<< Anonymous(Mike)
Nick Reply
I'm not surprised. Some cards have bugs you discover when you start a chain.
Below, I had reported the funny case where a card (half-shut) triggers differently if you have, just in the hand, another specific quick spell card (forbidden chalice) which it fixes and restores, temporarily, the correct activation conditions of that card. LoL
Anonymous
More than I get when I actually farm the fucker
<< Anonymous
Mystic Quest Reply
OMG
MakronZeta
Wow got two in the random lottery of the battle city event in the very same 10 draw :'D
Anonymous
when will yugi event return ? is that the only way to get this card for now ? im new to the game
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Yes you are right. You can learn to use in-game card studio > card catalog > how to obtain. The event is the only way that I know unless they added it into some UR cards ticket card pool.

Normally it takes them another 2 months or so to repeat the event.
Anonymous
Does Dark Magician Girl gain ATK if this guy is on the graveyard?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
no, it's only treated as DM while on the field
Anonymous
Available with KC cup tickets.
Nick
I sending through duel links, help->contacts, a bug inquiry:

Details:
Cannot activate some quick spells before the damage step begins.
Example
1. "Half-Shut" face-down solely.
2. "Half-Shut" face down with "Forbidden Calice".
In the first case you can't activate half shut before the damage step and during the battle step.
In the second case you can activate half shut before the damage step and during the battle step.
<< Anonymous(Nick)
Anonymous Reply
Yeah... That's not a bug. Traps and Quick-play Spells are set to activate at the last possible moment, as 99% of the time, that's when you would want to use them.

Toggling your chain button to 'on' can fix that.
<< Anonymous
Nick Reply
I have already chain button turned ON.
ON/OFF no difference.
The problem isn't with all cards, so it's a bug. Forbidden Chalice's presence (you don't need to active it) can fix temporarily this bug for which some cards can be activated even outside the damage step inside the battle phase.
Half-Shut is an example, whiteout forbidden chalice presence you can't activate it outside the damage step.
Anonymous
Anyone know why De-fusion doesn't work with this card? De-fusion has always been a little buggy and I use it all the time, so I don't think this is user error.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Probably because once it's in the graveyard it is no longer considered a Dark Magician. And since it aint a dark magician anymore, ya can't summon it with De-Fusion
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Should be the same for King of Swamp too then, right? Not only that, but De-fusion states that it summons the material used to fuse the monster not the correct material just the material you used for that fusion. Also, if that were the case then I shouldnt be able to summon mirage dragon from the grave with De-fusion because, as konami stated, being able to summon "2 dark type monsters" isn't fair
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
King of the Swamp simply replaces the correct material, but there is no name change involved. King of the Swamp is King of the Swamp in both field and graveyard.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I seriously think De-fusion is not that great right now.
Nick
This card and magician's robe make me to discover a bug which afflicts the most of the quick spells.
You know as some quick spells can be activate inside the damage step of the battle step... ok. Some of these spells you can't activate before that event.

Example: try to face down "Half Shut" or "Rush Recklessly" whiteout other cards in spell/trap zone...
You can activate these cards inside the damage step, main phase (when an event occurs) and during the ending phase. You can't activate these cards when the opponent declares an attack before the damage step begins. So, during the battle phase you can't summon magician of dark illusion.

Instead if you have face-down "forbidden calice" together half-shut or rush... you can activate half and/or rush both before the damage step begins, inside or after.
So you can summon dark illusion.
Anonymous
I wanted to make a deck around this wizard, but i could only farm 2 of this.....can i have a replacement for this?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I got 9 copies of magicians robe, 4 copies of gaia, 4 copies of the expanded spell, and you think I didn't farm him...haha
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Well I have 7 copies of Magician of Dark Ilusion and way more copies of the rest than you... So... "It's your fault you didn't farm hard enough"
<< Anonymous
Your mama Reply
to the guy above me, op of the comment asked for a replacement, not ur bullshit
<< Anonymous(Your mama)
Your mama Reply
hey op! you won't need 3 copies of it anyway, might end up with a bricky hand lol
Anonymous
Is the second effect an ignition effect or what? It is not triggering.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I summon it using sareketsu, wod etc but it doesn't work with magicians robe effect? I know that's a quick effect but surely that should trigger it?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
it only triggers with spell/traps
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
On the description it says splel/trap or effect?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Spell*
Anonymous
Great card, im happy to see dark magician family growin up.
does anyone know a way to put dark magician from deck to graveyard?
<< Anonymous
DrillDude Reply
The only card that I can think of that send a specific card from deck to grave is Cyberdark Cannon.

I couldn't recall whether do we get any other card that does the same in DL.

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Menu

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

Big Tusked Mammoth should be part of rewards, that card appears since the 1st event and not obtai...
Does this mean we don't need dark magic curtain anymore?
Hello my name is Lauren Sara i'm from USA i want to testify of a great and powerful spell ...
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site