Treeborn Frog | Deck and Rulings

This page notes details of Treeborn Frog (WATER/Aqua/Effect Monster) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
12th Mini Box Clash of Wings is available now!
update 04/08/2017

Treeborn Frog

Treeborn Frog
Monster TypeAqua
Card typeEffect
Card Effect TypeTrigger Effect / Condition


During your Standby Phase, if this card is in your Graveyard and you do not control a "Treeborn Frog": You can Special Summon this card. You must control no Spell/Trap Cards to activate and to resolve this effect.

How to get / rarity

PackElectric Overload [UR]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--




  • Revives itself during each of your standby phases, making it perfect to use as tribute.


  • Low stats overall.
  • Can only revive himself if you do not control another treeborn frog or any spell/trap cards.



Use Skreech to send this monster from deck to the graveyard with another water monster.

Enemy Controller

This card is great for decks with many one tribute monsters and works well with card effects that require tribute, like Enemy Controller's second effect.





ActionsActivates from your Graveyard
Summoning categoriesSpecial Summons itself from your Graveyard


Hot New Top
Frog-Monarch 2days ago
Best card in the game
If I have only a field spell with no backrow will the frog return?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
have u lost your brain? when did field spell cards STOP being spell cards?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous 26days ago Reply
Sometimes the card specifies "in the Spell/Trap Zone", which the Field Spell zone is not a part of. However in this case it says "Spell/Trap cards" in general.
Is this frog jesus or something?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Why is this UR when Naturia pineapple is just R?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Because you can use this in any deck, not just a Beast/Plant one? Being WATER gives it advantages, too, like dumping it with Skreech.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Adding to what the anon said above, this card is a recurring Tribute source whose most notable use in TCG/OCG was in a deck with varied Type and Attribute - Monarch deck.
Any replacements for screech?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Abyss Warrior
Why can people use treeborn frogs effect in the MAINPHASE?

Treeborn frog is summoned in the standbyphase.
Opponents main phase starts and is displayed.
Opponent uses econ on treeborn.
Treeborn returns.

<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
They're using econ in their standby phase, obviously. It's a quick-play spell. You can use it in any phase.
"You must control no Spell/Trap Cards to activate and to resolve this effect."

Can I have set card in my spell/trap zone or is it needed to be empty?
<< Anonymous
Ulle Reply
alright, so I should play E-Cons and Headlongs together with Treeborn Frog
<< Anonymous
rum1890 Reply
Field spell are counted also or are separated ?
<< Anonymous(rum1890)
The4gotNdeath Reply
Field spells counted in real yugioh so i assume it counts in duel links
<< Anonymous(The4gotNdeath)
rum1890 Reply
thank you
To answer people's question on why it can be summoned multiple times: when a card leaves and returns somewhere, it's treated as a new card. See for example: use a "once per turn"-effect, flip it face-down and up or destroy and revive it, and you can use the effect again. Same with Treeborn Frog: it left and returned to the Graveyard, so its "once per turn" has been reset, allowing it to be used again
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Continued: Only when a card effect SPECIFICALLY says "you can only use the effect of [CARD NAME] once per turn", only then can you activate a card with that name only once that turn.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Guess I should also explain why it now says "once per turn" when it seems unnecessary. It's for specific cases. For example: when Light and Darkness Dragon is on the field, you can activate Treeborn Frog, Dragon negates it, and then because of "once per turn" you can't activate it again to drop Dragon's ATK and DEF even further, since Frog in this case didn't leave the Graveyard.
<< Anonymous
Treebornfrog bug? Reply
Treebornfrog bug?
Is treeborn frog bugged?

I face a treeborn frog user.

He summons treeborn frog from the graveyard with its effect.

He does enemy controller on it to tribute it and gain control over my monster.

Than treeborn frog is summoned from the grave again. Even though he only has 1 frog.

How is this possible?

Its effect allows it to go from the grave to the field in the standby fase.
Once per turn.

He did it twice in the SAME TURN.

How is this possible?
Do i misunderstand treeborn frogs description?
Is the card bugged?
<< Anonymous(Treebornfrog bug?)
Treebornfrog bug? Reply
Confused it with a different once per turn card.
<< Anonymous(Treebornfrog bug?)
Treebornfrog bug? Reply
Apparently it says
once per turn ingame (and in the yugioh wikia), but this site has left the once per turn part out of the card text.
Okay is this a new glitch or hack in ranked pvp?
I am at Legend rank. In my turn I destroyed this face down Treeborn Frog. Okay it was his turn he special summons it from graveyard, everything is fine so far. Then he used E-con and tribute his Treeborn frog to take over my monster, AND his treeborn frog effects activated again and came back to the field, so he eventually used my monster and the frog to tribute summon a 7 star but WTH it was not standby phrase and it happened twice that turn?
<< Anonymous
Ulle Reply
That should be correct while everything happened during his standby phase.

-> Draw phase
-> Standby Phase (Special summon Treeborn, use Econ from hand, special summon Treeborn again)
-> Main phase
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Yes I have just tried that and can confirm it works the way you said. Thank you very much
<< Anonymous(Ulle)
Anonymous Reply
Doesnt this make it twice per turn?
why can you activate multi times. its says once pre turn. is that a glitch
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
its ok man, dont gotta get so mad.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Exactly! It is once per TURN, not "just once".
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
It's not once per turn
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
It is once per turn.
The site description is wrong.

Ingame it says once per turn.
Wrong deacription???

Ingame it says "once per turn" on the card.

Here on this site that part is missing.

Is it once per turn or not?

As i have seen people summon treeborn frog twice in the same turn with 1 frog in their graveyard.

Even though the card ingame says once per turn.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
And the wiki says once per turn too.

Commens and feedback


Popular pages

12th Mini Box: Clash of Wings

D.D. Tower: Dark Dimension Event

Structure Deck EX: Spellbound Silent Released!

Pick-a-Gift Campaign! [ Jun 08 - Jun 20 ]

Special Gift Campaign!

Upcoming events [Jun & July]

Decks to farm LDs

Booster packs

Available card boxes
The Ultimate RisingAge of DiscoveryNeo-ImpactFlame of the TyrantValkyries Rage
Wonders of the SkyChaotic ComplianceLand of the TitansCrimson KingdomDawn of Destiny
Electric OverloadEchoes of SilenceServants of KingsGalactic Origin
Blades of Spirit Primal BurstSelection Box Vol. 01Resonance of ContrastAbyss Encounter
Rampage of the ForestValiant SoulsVisions of IceSelection Box Vol. 01 MiniCrusaders Battleground
Clash of Wings----

Card Trader & PvP Tickets

Card TraderRanked Rewards

Card Trader

Ranked Rewards

Structure decks



Comments (updated every hour)

So this is the story why Leyna leave this fuckeď page. I am interested in this Also you fools e...
548-530-766 Online daily. No special summons.
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards


Another Game Site