Freed the Matchless General | Decks and Ruling

This page notes details of Freed the Matchless General (EARTH/Warrior/Effect Monster) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
Jack Atlas unlock event!
update 13/10/2016

Freed the Matchless General

Freed the Matchless General
Monster TypeWarrior
Card typeEffect
Card Effect TypeContinuous Effect / Trigger Effect
Related to ArchetypesDark counterpart


Negate any Spell effects that target this card, and if you do, destroy that Spell Card. During your Draw Phase, instead of conducting your normal draw: You can add 1 Level 4 or lower Warrior-Type monster from your Deck to your hand. This card must be face-up on the field to activate and to resolve this effect.

How to get / rarity

PackCrimson Kingdom [SR]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--




  • Negates any spell effects that targets Freed.
  • Can search for other Warrior-type monsters during draw phase.
  • Decent attack.


  • Low defense for a 1 tribute monster.
  • Compared to its dark counterpart, this Freed only negates spell cards that targets it, instead of giving the protection to other monsters as well, but this card can be special summoned.

Tips, related cards, skills

Exchange of Night and Day

A continuous trap card that you can use once per turn. This helps with getting specific card(s) in your deck, mostly if you use a deck that contains both Light and Dark attribute monsters.

The Warrior Returning Alive

This can be used to bring Freed back to your hand. Best used together with other Warrior-type monsters so you have more options, instead of becoming a possible dead card if you can't use it.





ActionsAdds from Deck to hand / Replaces normal draw
Monster/Spell/Trap categoriesNegates Effects of Spell Cards / Destroys Spell Cards

Other Articles

List of Cards by Card Types

List of Cards by Levels


Comments are appreciated!

Please drop your ideas and suggestions below. We keep updating the page based on your posts!


Hot New Top
good on cyber angel deck
Can Freed negate Mysterious Triangle? Won with Warrior deck against aliens because hed destroys "A" Cells cards.
why effect does not work, I attack monster opponent activate OTC and kill my freed
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
The second part of OtC does not target.
That's why.
Freed negates econ, riryoku, equip spells, and anything else that TARGETS. This is the key wording here. Order to Charge targets it's controllers own Normal monster as it's activation cost. At the resolution of the effect of Order to Charge, you send your monster and destroy an opponents monster. This effect does not target the Freed
<< Anonymous(Knives1990)
Knives1999 Reply
That being said, the Freed monsters, Feast of the Wild, and Tenmataitei make for a really good deck. The Freeds by themselves are extremely strong tribute monsters, Chaos Command Magician was decent stopping monster targeting, but stopping spell targeting is so good in the current meta. Can't count how many times someone thought econ or riryoku was going to save them only to get wrecked
<< Anonymous(Knives1990)
ImLosingMyPatience Reply
That's right, but to destroy an opponent's monster with OTC you need to choose the monster, which should be considered a target effect in my opinion, just like when you need to choose your nomal monster and you need to target it, or I think they should writte on OTC that when it targets an opponent moster to destroy it, this effect is not treated as target.
<< Anonymous(ImLosingMyPatience)
Anonymous Reply
When the card effect doesn't use the term "target" or "select", it does not target. It's that simple, no need for further card text.
Why does Enemy Controller work on him?
<< Anonymous(DWA)
Edgar81539 Reply
It shouldn't work on him unless it's a bug or the guy it's getting tributed for the second effect; that effect doesn't target.
I just used riryoku on an enemy freed to increase the attack of one of my own monsters, and while I did that I was like "fuck that won't work on this card", but against my own expectations it did work, a bug or am I missing something?
<< Anonymous
Edgar81539 Reply
The wording on the guy is a bit wonky but it only negates effects that target him and him alone. Anything that targets 2 monsters at the same time (Riryoku basically) cannot be negated by him.
why can't i activate smoke grenade thief effect on this card? is it a bug or something?
<< Anonymous(YouMadBro?)
Anonymous Reply
freed negates spell before it can be activated. it's different from gearfried which doesn't negate, but destroy the equip after it has been activated.
Its funny that this guy stops Order to Charge
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Especially when hes on the face of it
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Nope otc destroys freed it has 2 be a bug though
The old man who always orders to charge, but negates "Order to Charge". Well...
<< Anonymous(Hanabi)
Anonymous Reply
He doesn't negate OTC
Does it negate OTC and Econ or not?
<< Anonymous(Incognito)
Anonymous Reply
<< Anonymous(Incognito)
Klak Reply
it negates Econ but not OTC since OTC targets the opponent's creature
<< Anonymous(Klak)
Anonymous Reply
i think he meant to ask if it negates OTC when your OPPONENT uses OTC and tries to destroy this card
I was able to tribute summon Freed and my opponent used OtC on him. Im just assuming that since OtC is a quickspell so it bypasses Freeds effect as he is being summoned... am i correct on this?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
It shouldn't work, every spell that specifically target freed like econ, soul exchange, or otc should be negated, i think it might be a bug.
So my freed got destroyed by otc, why?

Commens and feedback




Comments (updated every hour)

man when u reached top in SD (Special duels) i thought you gonna see some odds deck but u'll...
good choice better play other game than this facked up trash piece of garbage money grabblers dis...
Can you unlock skills by playing special duels or it is ranked only(besides gate)?
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards


Another Game Site