If this card is in your hand or Graveyard when a face-up Beast-Type monster you control is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard (except during the Damage Step): You can pay 1000 Life Points; Special Summon this card.
Tricky to use, but it can help with summoning the Baboons or other tribute monsters, as well as thinning your deck. Some of the summonable monsters have effects that can activate in the graveyard as well.
It's possible to trigger baboon's condition with e-con or order to charge??
No. Neither of them work. The reason being, both OTC and e-con's effect consider it as a "tribute" your monster and not "destroy" your monster.
I was planning to have a generation shift in my deck in order to trigger its effect sorta as a single tribute plus you get the monster back but it doesnt seem to trigger his effect. Is this a bug? I am using it on a beast during my standby phase and the trap card clearly indicates it destroys a beast and you can draw a copy from your deck
one of the trickier yugioh rulings; because green baboon has 'when a beast type monster is destroyed' in it's card text it's effect cannot be activated in reponse to 'generation shift'.
because generation shift goes
Destroy -> add card
the last action after the card resolves isn't a beast type being destroyed, but the adding of the card, thus green baboon misses the timing and can't be summoned