Content

Archfiend Emperor, the First Lord of Horror | Deck and Rulings

This page notes details of Archfiend Emperor, the First Lord of Horror (DARK/Fiend/Effect Monster) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
Tabletop RPG event guide!
update 04/09/2016

Archfiend Emperor, the First Lord of Horror

Archfiend Emperor, the First Lord of Horror
AttributeDARK
Monster TypeFiend
Card typeEffect
Card Effect TypeSummoning condition / Condition / Continuous Effect / Ignition Effect
Level★8
Passcode28423537
ATK3000
DEF2000
ArchetypesArchfiend
Supports ArchetypesArchfiend
SupportsFiend

text

You can Normal Summon this card without Tributing, but its original ATK and DEF become halved. If Summoned this way, it is destroyed during the End Phase. You cannot Special Summon any monsters, except Fiend-Type monsters. Once per turn: You can banish 1 "Archfiend" card from your hand or Graveyard, then target 1 card on the field; destroy that target.

How to get

PackAbyss Encounters [UR]
Level-up reward-
Victory against-
Card trader-
Other-

Evaluation

RatingA

Pros

  • Great ATK stats.
  • Can destroy any card on the Field by banishing 1 “Archfiend” card from
    your hand or Graveyard.
  • Can be Normal Summoned without Tributes.

Cons

  • If Normal Summoned without Tribute, this card will be destroyed during your End Phase.
  • If Normal Summoned without Tribute, this card’s ATK and DEF is halved.
  • Requires 2 Tributes for a Tribute Summon.

Tips

  • It is suggested you include more “Archfiend” monsters as banish fodder for Archfiend Emperor to destroy your opponent’s cards.
  • Call of the Archfiend can be banished from your Hand as a cost to activate Archfiend Emperor’s effect.
  • You can also choose to tech Anti-Magic Arrows in favor for your Archfiend Emperor to destroy your opponent’s monsters instead, and possibly end the duel with an OTK.
  • Another advantage of using Trance Archfiend is that it can return 1 banished DARK monsters to your hand, when it was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. This potentially recycles your banish fodders.
  • You can Normal Summon Archfiend Emperor and activate its effect right away to destroy your opponent’s cards, if you have Archfiend cards in your Hand or Graveyard.

Searcher

Doomdog Octhros searches for Archfiend Emperor when it was sent from the Field to the Graveyard.

Archfiend Support

Pandemonium is a Field Spell that allows you to search for another “Archfiend” monster from your Deck to your hand which is lower level than Archfiend Emperor, when Archfiend Emperor was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard via its own effect. Archfiend Palabyrinth allows you to target Archfiend Emperor on your Field, then banish another Fiend-type monster from your Field to Special Summon 1 level 8 “Archfiend” monster from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard. Call of the Archfiend is a very powerful continuous Trap that can revive your Archfiend Emperor from the Graveyard to the Field, by discarding any Fiend-type monster as cost. Trance Archfiend can activate its effect to discard Archfiend Emperor from your Hand to the Graveyard, in order to be Special Summoned with Call of the Archfiend. Archfiend General is both a powerful beater, and searcher for Pandemonium Field Spell. Archfiend Cavalry can Special Summon Archfiend Emperor from your Graveyard when it was destroyed by a Card effect.

Additional Support

You can Special Summon banished DARK monsters with this card, after it was banished by Archfiend Emperor to activate its effect.

Decks

Rulings

Work in progress...

Comments

Hot New Top
Anonymous 1days ago
Currently bugged. You can normal summon it with its effect and it will not have halved stats and won't be destroyed at the end of turn.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous 1days ago Reply
That's....a very critical and broken bug lol.
Non a anon 21days ago
You can summon it with its efefct and equip it with axe of fools to negate its self destructing effects and make it a 4k beater
<< Anonymous(Non a anon)
Anonymous 20days ago Reply
Emperor's self-destruction effect can't be negated. It still gets destroyed at the end of the turn.
<< Anonymous(Non a anon)
Anonymous 20days ago Reply
It's still get destroyed.. Because it's part of summon condition not just effect..
Anonymous 29days ago
Why can´t I destroy a normal monster when I activate his effect? I normal summoned Archfiend Emperor and used his effect, but I couldn't target Red Eye Black Dragon to destroy it.
Anonymous
Do I really need three of these things or can I get by with just 2?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
2 is fine for f2p
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
You'll want 3 along with Archfiend Palabyrinth if you're going to be competitive with it. You'll walk up to Legend rank if you set the deck up right.
Mr.Anon
Normal summon this, and before you attack use "Axe of Fools" on him that half atk effect will be negated and
he becomes a nice 4000 atk monster on the field.
He still only lasts until end phase thou
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Most likely, the destruction is part of his Summoning Condition. Which is something that cannot be negated.
<< Anonymous(Mr.Anon)
Val Reply
The best answer to why he's destroyed is this.

It's an exception due to Konami OCG ruling.

There's a card called "Skill Drain" which negates the effects of monsters, just like Axe of Fools. And that's how it was ruled. The effect of losing half ATK/DEF is negated, but it's still destroyed at the End phase.
<< Anonymous(Mr.Anon)
Val Reply
More IMPORTANTLY:
Effects can still be activated, so even with Axe equipped you can still activate the Emperor's effect. You will still need to banish one card (because it's a cost, which is not negated), but you will NOT be able destroy one card (because it's an effect). In short, don't use his ability, or you'll just end up throw ling one card away (not to graveyard, but banished).
<< Anonymous(Mr.Anon)
Val Reply
Source: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Archfiend_Emperor,_the_First_Lord_of_Horror
Lacraia!
This is arguably the most OP card in the game.
<< Anonymous(Lacraia!)
Anonymous Reply
Not really
<< Anonymous(Lacraia!)
Anonymous Reply
At three copies, it truly lives up to its name.
Player K
Works perfect with palabrynth, if you have another fiend type normal summon this guy. Use it to special summon empress and when empress get destroyed you can get emporror out + you can use empress to destroy a card + a 3500 atk beater.
Ideal option if you dont have 3 call of the archfiend of 3 escapes of DD
<< Anonymous(Player K)
Anonymous Reply
But you must control at least 2 monster to use this effect
Player J
Let's try guess what are the other 2 monsters in front of him. if im not mistaken that is Maha Vailo on the right, not sure about the other one..
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Anonymous Reply
Hmmm interesting
<< Anonymous(Player J)
Anonymous Reply
Unless I'm mistaken, the two monsters depicted before him are actually Archfiend Soldier and Archfiend General.
Anonymous
need 2 more
Anonymous
So this is final boss huh
Anonymous
Now this dude is tier 0 hahaha...
<< Anonymous
IMANOK Reply
Why? Because someone on youtube said it tier 0? Lol
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
He's good, but nowhere near "tier 0".
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Not tier 0 but tier 1 yes.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
teir 1 still no
Anonymous
forbiden chalice combo
<< Anonymous
OCG Expert Reply
Chalice doesn't revert this card into 3000 atk, it stay at 1500. Just like Qliphorts and Barbatros.
<< Anonymous(OCG Expert)
Anonymous Reply
FC actually reverts Qliphorts’ stats back to normal since it’s part of their effects to modify their own stats. There’s a reason why the deck goes so well with Skill drain and why people run at least 1 FC for that deck.

The same will happen to Archfiend emperor, but it will still get destroyed on its end phase.

Trust me, I’ve been running qliphorts and for a long time in ygopro.

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Menu

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

armades and ua mighty slugger can only negate activation and effect but they cannot negate the co...
HOW CAN I GET " OBELISK THE TORMENTOR "
you have the same think with me, i think it's so weird too, stardust keep stay on number 1 o...
That isn't a very interesting conversation. Google Translate says it's one guy saying y...
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site