Why does this card even says ''This card can ONLY be Ritual Summoned with the Ritual Spell Card, "Zera Ritual".'' When you also can ritual summon it with ''Contract of the Abyss''. It is the same BS as with ''Garlandolf, King of Destruction''.
I think it's just an oddity that dates back to the days when the only way to summon a Ritual Monster was with their designated Ritual Magic. Seems weird that they didn't release an errata for it though.
That wording was never intended to be a "you can't use any other Ritual Spell" restriction (heck, that wording was still in place in Dark Crisis, which introduced both Contract with the Abyss and a DARK Ritual Monster).
It's just a simple modification of the typical "You can only Special Summon this card by..." text since it works the same way as any other semi-nomi.
Anyone remember Yugioh: Forbidden Memories?
Yeah, that game suckballs but at that time you can instant summon this dude for no reason lol
Contract of the abyss card should let you do ritual summon ANY DARK RITUAL monster right? I've put the card set, got 2 4 lvl monster, & 1 cakra (dark ritual monster lvl 8) on the hand. The abyss card wont activate at all & I cant summon cakra, why is that??? My oponent got only 1 monster with no special skill. Is this card a fraud?? Can someone help me figure this out please?
"can only be summoned by..." (and similar wording such as in this case) means the monster can be Special Summoned in any matter, as long as it has been Summoned in the described way before (of course, sending it to the deck or hand "resets" this) (including substitutes of course, such as Contract with the Abyss).
Just tried to summon chakra and I had resurrection of chakra in my hand along with garlandolf and another ritual monster with 8 stars. Laid down resurrection of chakra and it only let me set the card and not activate the effect for some reason. There were no cards on the field saying I couldn't use spell cards etc. glitch maybe?