Content

The First Monarch | Deck and Rulings

This page notes details of The First Monarch (Trap Card/Continuous) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
Raid duel event guide!
update 20/03/2020

The First Monarch

The First Monarch
TypeTrap Card
PropertyContinuous
Card Effect TypeCard effect / Trigger-like Effect / Continuous-like Effect
Passcode08522996
ArchetypesMonarch / Trap Monster
Related to ArchetypesMonarch

text

Special Summon this card as an Effect Monster (Fiend-Type/DARK/Level 6/ATK 1000/DEF 2400). (This card is also still a Trap Card.) If Summoned this way: You can discard 1 card, then declare 1 Attribute; this card becomes that Attribute, and can be treated as 2 Tributes for the Tribute Summon of a monster with the same Attribute as this card. If this card was Summoned this way, you cannot Special Summon monsters, except monsters with this card's Attribute.

How to Get

Pack--
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
OtherSolemn Odion Roaming Event [SR]

Evaluation

RatingB

Pros

  • Good Defense.
  • Can act as 2 tributes.

Cons

  • Must discard to use as 2 tributes.
  • Prevents you from Special Summoning monsters of a different attribute than this card.

Tips

Ancient Gear

Ancient Gear monsters need to Tribute Summon some of their best monsters like Ancient Gear Golem. They can sometimes be slow to put out monsters on the field without their newer support, so The First Monarch can be helpful as tribute fodder.

Egyptian Gods

The First Monarch can ease the summoning of a DIVINE monster if you change his attribute to DIVINE. This is useful since the Egyptian Gods can usually only be summoned through Tribute Summon.

Advance Force

With Advance Force on the field, The First Monarch can be the sole tribute for a level-7 or higher monster.

Decks

Monarch Deck

Rulings

Classifications

ActionsDiscards for cost / Declares an Attribute
Monster/Spell/Trap categoriesTreats Trap Cards as monsters
Summoning categoriesSpecial Summons itself from your Spell & Trap Card Zone / Double Tributer / Prevents your Special Summons
Stat changesChanges Attribute

Comments

Hot New Top
Anonymous
I'm not sure, but I think this card can be counted as 2 tributes for a dark monster even when you don't discard, right ?

I think I used it to tribute summon a Red-eyes dragon a few months ago.

Is that normal ?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I tested it and it doesn't count as 2 if you don't discard, even for a DARK monster.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Maybe what happened was a bug that was fixed then
Anonymous
How come it doesn't work on Yubel or am I missing something?
Anonymous
It's a good trap but what I don't like about it... is the fact you have to discard
Anonymous
Just to confirm a few things about this card. 1) it does work with egyptian god cards and also beast king requiring 3 summons, you just need an extra monster on the field.

2) If you already have this card on the field and used it's effect the game glitches and will not allow you to summon an extra copy from your hand.

Decent card situationally even though it is bugged.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I knew that it worked with the god cards but are you sure about Barbaros? It says that you need to tribute 3 MONSTERS and not 3 TRIBUTES.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Yes I can confirm 100% you can as I did it 30 mins ago. You just need to use to use it's specical effect and select Earth with one other monster on the field.

I've been messing around today with Serket decks with First Monarch and had a few OTKs
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Nice. Gonna try this out. Thanks
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
NP
Anonymous
This can work in an Egyptian God based deck. Since you can tribute this card and 1 other monster to summon an Egyptian God card.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Badly this dont work because Egyptian God says "Tribute 3 Monsters" :(
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
:(
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
No the first anon is correct. If you used the first monarch effect to discard 1 card from your hand you treat this card as 2 tribute for tribute summon of any attribute of your choice so with this you can tribute this card and 1 other monster to summon god card
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
If you have a fabled monster that summons itself from discard you can have all required tributes I think.
Anonymous
Kinda nice for a Dark Lord deck since they're all dark attribute, you discard a card which is good for a dark lord deck and it allows you to summon any dark lord in your hand by tributing this one card. And if not all that then you have a 2400 Def wall for the time being.
And maybe even decent for a blue eyes deck.
Anonymous
you could use it to in darklord decks so you can summon morningstar
Anonymous
Why would you need to discard an Egyptian God to use it as tribute fodder for another god card? All the card says is discard and declare attribute, never says it has to be the same as what you discarded. Doesn’t even have to be a monster.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I guess whoever made the article misread the card. Won't be the first time that happens in Gamea XD

Hope they fix that part.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
the monster u tributing this for needs the same attribute as this one which gets it by discarding a certain attribute so for summoning a god u need divine attribute if thats how it works ?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
you do not need to discard a certain attribute

the double tribute effect relies on the attribute you DECLARED
Anonymous
This has an error, you discard a card, then declare an attribute. This card becomes the declared attribute. It doesn't matter what you discard
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
so whats the error ?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
The article makes it as if you have to discard a monster with the same attribute, that's the error.
Anonymous
this could help SSA decks big time.
Just some crappy guy
Oh thats hot. Hats hot
Anonymous
2400 DEF? wow, almost like a big shield gardna that doesn't swtich battle position
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
inverse stats of the monarchs
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
InverZ
I have that word 'stacked' in my head lol

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Popular pages

27th Mini Box: Flames of the Heart

Tour Guide's Mission Bingo Event

Raid Duel - Dimensional Disaster Event

Upcoming Structure Deck: HERO Generation

New Week & End of the Week Campaign

Train Your Kuriboh! Campaign

Upcoming events [March]

Decks to farm LDs

Booster packs

Available card boxes
The Ultimate RisingAge of DiscoveryNeo-ImpactFlame of the TyrantValkyries Rage
Wonders of the SkyChaotic ComplianceLand of the TitansCrimson KingdomDawn of Destiny
Electric OverloadEchoes of SilenceServants of KingsGalactic Origin
Blades of Spirit Primal BurstSelection Box Vol. 01Resonance of ContrastAbyss Encounter
Rampage of the ForestValiant SoulsVisions of IceSelection Box Vol. 01 MiniCrusaders Battleground
Clash of WingsBurning NovaEmpire of ScarletGaia GenesisStardust Acceleration
Power of BraveryBlackstorm RisingSecrets of the AncientsSelection Box Vol. 02Revolution Beginning
Tornado of PhantomsAbsolute InfernoDimension of the WizardsWarriors UniteLords of Shining
Blazing RoseGuardians of RockCybernetic RebellionCurse of DreadValhalla Calling
Dark DimensionSpirit of the BeastAerial AssaultSoul of ResurrectionFuture Horizon
Masters of ShadowJudgement ForceFortress of GearsTruth UniverseFlames of the Heart

Card Trader & PvP Tickets

Card TraderRanked Rewards

Card Trader

Ranked Rewards

Structure decks

Structure decks
Sorcerers AllianceDragonic ForceHero RisingLegendary WarriorsDestiny Rulers
Dragonic KnightsSpellbound SilenceSynchro ConnectionThe White Dragon of LegendSwordbound Silence
Ancient Gear AwakeningNeos FusionReturn of the Red-EyesFull Metal DesperadoMaster of Chaos
Kings ResonanceDragunity OverdriveGladiators StormHERO Generation

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

How do I get Hamon and Raviel?
I've been playing the app since 2016 and yugioh way before that. Everyone starts out like th...
That's quite a statement coming from someone who has never even set foot in Mexico.
Just use your normal monster with highest ATK.
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site