This card was from a very old era, like, DM era old.
So it's natural that the wordings used are still kinda wonky sometimes.
But yeah, that actually adds more reason why we need this card to get its PSCT.
Official rulings - When "Dark Cat with White Tail" is attacked, flipped, and destroyed by an attack, you cannot select the cat itself for its effect so if the cat was your only monster, the cat's effect is not applied.
yes you can return this card, although I think you need to have one other monster still.
I have found that it will show "effect works" even tho it doesn't. but testing it some more, you can't combine it with a card youre controlling from your opponent, it has to be your card returning to your hand. and the card has to be face up. ill keep testing it tho cause this card has potential to be OP as hell.
combo it with "A feint Plan" so they summon more monsters, and I like to combo after using a flip effect and than returning that card to hand and replaying it on the field. good for card draw.