Content

Ultimate Providence | Deck and Rulings

This page notes details of Ultimate Providence (Trap Card/Counter) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
3rd Year Global Release Anniversary Campaign
update 13/01/2020

Ultimate Providence

Ultimate Providence
TypeTrap Card
PropertyCounter
Card Effect TypeActivation requirement / Card effect
Passcode38891741
ArchetypesSolemn

text

When a Spell/Trap Card, or monster effect, is activated: Discard the same type of card (Monster, Spell, or Trap); negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that card.

How to get / rarity

PackCrimson Kingdom [R]
Dragunity Overdrive [R]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
Other--

Evaluation

RatingB

Pros

  • Can negate any card effect.
  • Destroys the negated card.

Cons

  • Needs to discard same type of card to negate an effect, making this somewhat situational.

Tips

Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord

When you negate an effect with Ultimate Providence, you can Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord special summoned special summoned from your hand and depending on what you negate he activates a different effect. And since Ultimate Providence can negate any card effect, you can choose what to negate and have Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord gain a specific effect.

Bountiful Artemis

Having Bountiful Artemis Face-up when you use counter traps allows you to draw a card. This will help you recover from the cost of using Ultimate Providence.

A Cat of Ill Omens

You can use A Cat of Ill Omen to search this card and put it at the top of your deck.

Decks

Rulings

Classifications

ActionsDiscards for cost
Monster/Spell/Trap categoriesNegates the effects of Effect Monsters / Negates the effects of Spell Cards / Negates the effects of Trap Cards / Destroys Monster Cards / Destroys Spell Cards / Destroys Trap Cards

Comments

Hot New Top
Anonymous
really useful
Anonymous
Caunta torap
Anonymous
Why can't wiz negate ultimate providence
<< Anonymous
YamiRyou Reply
Counter traps can only be negated by other counter traps.
Anonymous
Superb synergy with rose archer. this card can be used for spells and monsters, rose archer can be used for traps. everything gets countered. >:-)
Anonymous
Why is this card suddenly being used so much? I don't mind, but literally 2 months ago, nobody used it.
<< Anonymous
akubane Reply
its mostly used versus sylvan
<< Anonymous
Frustration Reply
I've seen this used in Aromages for about that long now.
retrouslandboy
Does the discard work with Dark World's?
<< Anonymous(retrouslandboy)
Anonymous Reply
Also wondering this.
<< Anonymous(retrouslandboy)
Anonymous Reply
No, its a cost
Cmiiw but the text after: means its a cost
Nobody
I think this card is bugged. I've got two in my deck and whenever the opponent uses a spell or trap card literally nothing happens. I don't get a prompt or anything to use it.
<< Anonymous(Nobody)
Naka Reply
Do you have a spell or trap card in your hand? You need to discard the same type that you're trying to negate
<< Anonymous(Nobody)
Anonymous Reply
if your rival uses magic discard a magic, and trap =
<< Anonymous(Nobody)
Anonymous Reply
You need to have the cards in your hand not in deck to trigger the prompt
DaWae Johnson
This card is OP! It is situational, yes but you simply have to adjust your dueling strategy and it becomes an always ready card. (Play very slow and hold one of each card type in your hand. If you have two monster cards only summon one, if you only have one magic card try to hold it until you get another) [Obviously, if you can finish the duel, don't hold cards. Just finish it!]

It is working great with this Rex Dino Deck:

Black Brachios
Sergeant electro
x2 Element saurus
x3 Sabersaurus
x2 Crawling dragon #2
x2 Two-headed king rex
Painful Decision
x2 Order of charge
Enemy controller
Mirror wall
Powerful rebirth
Spiritual Earth Art- Kurogane
Ultimate Providence
Windstorm of Etaqua
Nophromoo
Can ultimate providence activate the effect of dark coffin? Seems like an intersting combo... situational but powerful.
<< Anonymous(Nophromoo)
Anonymous Reply
dark coffin must be sent from the field
Anonymous
Can ultimate providence be activated during the battle phase?
<< Anonymous
Edgar81539 Reply
It is a counter trap so it can always be activated as long as the conditions are fullfilled
Anonymous
this + fabled lurrie
<< Anonymous
D4RIC Reply
+/or peten the dark clown


GG
Zish_UK
This card is broken, i used the effect of Hane-Hane to send opponents silent magician lv 8 back to this hand. He triggers this Trap, discards a random monster which does not relate to Hane-Hane Type or Attribute?!
<< Anonymous(Zish_UK)
Anonymous Reply
Type as in monster, spell, or trap lol

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Popular pages

Duel Quest Event

Pick-a-Gift Campaign! Event

Tag Duel Tournament

3rd Anniversary Celebration Campaign

Upcoming Selection Box Vol.03

Structure Deck EX: Dragunity Overdrive

25th Main Box: Future Horizon

Dark Side of Dimension World appear!

Special Gift Campaign

Train Your Kuriboh! Campaign

Upcoming events [Feb]

Decks to farm LDs

Booster packs

Available card boxes
The Ultimate RisingAge of DiscoveryNeo-ImpactFlame of the TyrantValkyries Rage
Wonders of the SkyChaotic ComplianceLand of the TitansCrimson KingdomDawn of Destiny
Electric OverloadEchoes of SilenceServants of KingsGalactic Origin
Blades of Spirit Primal BurstSelection Box Vol. 01Resonance of ContrastAbyss Encounter
Rampage of the ForestValiant SoulsVisions of IceSelection Box Vol. 01 MiniCrusaders Battleground
Clash of WingsBurning NovaEmpire of ScarletGaia GenesisStardust Acceleration
Power of BraveryBlackstorm RisingSecrets of the AncientsSelection Box Vol. 02Revolution Beginning
Tornado of PhantomsAbsolute InfernoDimension of the WizardsWarriors UniteLords of Shining
Blazing RoseGuardians of RockCybernetic RebellionCurse of DreadValhalla Calling
Dark DimensionSpirit of the BeastAerial AssaultSoul of ResurrectionFuture Horizon

Card Trader & PvP Tickets

Card TraderRanked Rewards

Card Trader

Ranked Rewards

Structure decks

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

Strange, in the "Description (Since 2018 Jun 26)" it mentions that you must have at lea...
in the next 5 days deffinetly before february
I just want f@$king marshmallon
Shiny black co....... ummm Shiny Black "C" Squadder I mean
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site