Content

Overwhelm | Decks and Ruling

This page notes details of Overwhelm (Trap Card/Counter) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Top Story
Newest way to farm Kaiba 7k!
update 14/02/2017

Overwhelm

Overwhelm
TypeTrap Card
PropertyCounter
Card Effect TypeActivation requirement / Card effect
Passcode20140382
Anti-supportsEffect Monster / Trap Card

text

Activate only while you control a face-up Level 7 or higher monster that was Tribute Summoned. Negate the activation of a Trap Card or an Effect Monster's effect and destroy that card.

How to Get / Rarity

PackAge of Discovery [N]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
Other--

Evaluation

Rating7.0 / 10

Pros

  • Useful if you perform a tribute summon, to stop opponent monsters effects and opponents traps from activating.
  • Easy to use because its a quick-play card.

Cons

Only works if you tribute summon, special summons do not count.

Tips

Together with Champion's Vigilance will make your high leveled monster cards get control of what your opponent can do.

Related cards

Decks

DeckSupport

Classifications

Monster/Spell/Trap categoriesNegates the activation of Effect Monster's effect / Destroys Monster Cards / Negates the activation of Trap Cards / Destroys Trap Cards

Other Articles

List of Cards by Card Types

List of Cards by Levels

Post

Comments are appreciated!

Please drop your ideas and suggestions below. We keep updating the page based on your posts!

Comments

Hot New Top
Anoymous 4days ago
So this happens, i tribute summon BEWD using bubonic vermin flip summon. Then i added overwhelm to my back row.i waited for almost 2 turns for overwhelm to be active since it doesnt work on my enemy's security orb then after 2 turns my BEWD was destroyed by michezure hence i got overwhelm.lol
Anoymous 7days ago
Love this card. It destroyed Relinquished for me.
Anoymous
Can this counter the Daedalus effect?
<< Anonymous
Bitchie Reply
Ye
Anoymous
What if monster was summoned with cost down, it wouldn't work the same turn but what about the later turns?
<< Anonymous
Anoymous 31days ago Reply
it works later turns
DHB
lot of you people are most likey setting the trap and attacking on the same turn, wont work.
Question though, will this work on the effect of the elemental gods? Suijin, etc.
<< Anonymous(DHB)
Anoymous 31days ago Reply
yes
Anoymous
this card is a good one for a 'N' card, I suggest you get it if you're running a meteor b dragon of BEWD based deck, a big F you to michizure and kuriboh
<< Anonymous
Anoymous Reply
Isn't champions way better for a blue eyes deck tho
<< Anonymous
Anoymous Reply
Champions vigilance*
<< Anonymous
Anoymous Reply
This one applies to monster effects, which champion's vigilance can't do. It can also be painful to farm kaiba for it. Otherwise, though, it's better than overwhelm.
ghost
this card has not been working for me. i would use stray lambs to summon my kazejin or suijin or blue eyes and it would not work for me. same with kazejin effect some times. i think the game still has bugs.
<< Anonymous(ghost)
Daemon Blitzkrieg Reply
Then stop Tribute SETTING & start Tribute SUMMONING? :/
Anoymous
Does this card also work with ritual summons that are level 7 or higher?
<< Anonymous
Daemon Blitzkrieg Reply
Nope as it fails for the same reason Tribute Doll fails: They are both Special summons, not Tributes.
DUNG
THis card can counter kuriboh
Anoymous
I don't think this works with FLIP summons either, for example monters set with Stray Lambs. I didn't get a prompt when Hane-hane flipped, and I know that definitely Counts as activation.
<< Anonymous
Anoymous Reply
Not true. I must have set Overwhelm the same turn. Sorry for misinformation.
Flavio
I had a tribute summoned Kazejin on the field and this card didn't work when my opponent used michizure. Why? This ruined the duel for me
<< Anonymous(Flavio)
Anoymous Reply
Did this happen on the same turn you set Overwhelm?
James
I have this card on the field and my Suijin, but how reliquish effect still got me ??
<< Anonymous(James)
Anoymous Reply
relinquish doesn't destroy suijin bue equip
<< Anonymous(James)
Anoymous Reply
*but
<< Anonymous(James)
Anoymous Reply
It should have triggered, I've countered Relinquished with Overwhelm before. But if you FLIP summoned your lvl 7+ monster, a la Stray Lambs, then I don't think it counts as a Tribute summon.

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Popular pages

Decks to farm LDs

Lvl 40 Regular Legendary Duelists

Yugi

Kaiba

Joey

Tea

Mai

Weevil

Rex

Mako

Keith

Ishizu

Odion
-
Event Exclusive Legendary Duelists

Pegasus

Yugi Muto

Yami Bakura

Skills

Booster packs

Available booster Packs

1st

2nd

3rd

4th

5th

6th

7th
----

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

can i see ur deck? maybe something wrong with your entire deck,if you play correctly you can get ...
Was thinking of lvl 7 normal monster deck : 3x dark magician 3x REBD 3x blue dragon summoner ...
I hope you are done with the mission. If you need any help with other missions, just ask me. I�...
Yeah thats true,and i forgot there were mokuba files in the game files
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site