During your Main Phase, you can Tribute Summon 1 Spellcaster-Type monster in face-up Attack Position, in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.) If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: You can add 1 Spellcaster-Type Normal Monster from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand. You can only use this effect of "Legion the Fiend Jester" once per turn.
Maybe one of you or your opponents field is full of 3 monsters already. Because that trap force your opponent to summon a monster too
Can someone explain to me what I'm missing? So I had overwhelm face down and as long as your 7 star monster is TRIBUTE SUMMONED, you can activate it(excluding special summon) I used cost down to bring dark magician down 2 stars, and used legion of fiend jester to TRIBUTE summon Dark magician on the field. No where in any of those cards does the words special summon come up thus sticking by the rule that I tribute summoned and not special summoned. So how was I not able to activate overwhelm when a trap was activated against me?
Um, you answered your own question here sir. Assuming this happened the same turn you summoned DM, Can't use Overwhelm if your monster is STILL a Lv 5 from Cost Down. You'd have to wait until next turn.
You can use Legion's first effect to Tribute Summon Dark Magician Girl, then use Legion's second effect to add Dark Magician to your hand.
You can then use that Dark Magician as dicard fodder for Wonder Balloons or Baou, and increase Dark Magician Girl's attack by an extra 300.