During either player's Main Phase: The turn player can pay 1000 Life Points x the number of monsters normally needed for the Tribute Summon of a monster (max. 2000); that player Normal Summons/Sets that monster without Tributing. (This is their one Normal Summon/Set for that turn. This is not a Tribute Summon.)
You need to pay 1000 Life Points x the number of monster needed for the tribute.
Your opponent can also use this effect.
Tips, related cards, skills
Recover Life Points
By using these cards, you can recover the Life Points that you lost from using Mausoleum of the Emperor. You can gain 2000 Life Points from Supremacy Berry if you have less Life Points than your opponent. While you can gain Life points equal to the attack of the monster that is destroyed by Guardian Angel Joan.
Search from deck
You can immediately get Mausoleum of the Emperor from your deck by using Planet Pathfinder's effect. While you can draw it on your next turn by flipping face-up An Owl of Luck.
Prevent opponent from using its effect
Prevent your opponent from using Mausoleum of the Emperor's effect by returning it to your hand after using it. Use cards such as Gravelstorm and Murmur of the Forest.
Normal Summon without Tribute / Set without Tribute / Normal Summon with card effect / Normal Set with card effect
The fact it says max 2000 is completely irrelevant (not sure why they printed that except so people stopped asking if you can use it for God Cards). Every card that Tributes 3 or more Tributes for a Tribute Summon either can't be Normal Summoned if you don't (Obelisk is an example of this), or do so to facilitate an effect, and thus won't work with Mausoleum anyway (such as Gilford the Lightning).
It's not a bug, this is a situation more similar to the ruling for Star Blast vs Spell Economics mentioned above by another anon.
Mausoleum's effect depends on the amount of LP paid, so you cannot avoid it using Life Cost 0, as the effect cannot be applied otherwise. If you paid 0 LP, you basically do not replace the tribute with any LP.
If I already have a monster on the field and use this card, can I summon Slifer?
You may already know this, but this card and many others can be found in the Card Trader's "Regular Inventory" (The section that has a blank Normal Monster, Trap and Spell card as its cover). You can only get 1 a day, but as long as you have the cash and SR Stones, you are set.
Can you use this card to summon either Slifer or the Tormentor with this card? I swear I used it to summon Slifer once with it but have not been able to do so since.
played with a mausoleum deck that was really fun!! would replace one of my barrel dragon with another ancient gear golem when I get it.
I'm thinking whether should I take away my econ for another supremacy berry. but it works really well with Fenghuang
your deck makes no sense. At this point just use 3 star demo, and take out useless mausoleum.
If you play ddraw, you must play more "1x" to tutor.
Well, the trick is to have the darkness buff skill of yami yugi field... and summon dark magician of chaos by this effect card with and then, in the same end phase, return the field card and pray for no autokill for an opponent summon by that card. im new to this game so if u have better idea, tell me pls.