Content

Floodgate Trap Hole | Decks and Ruling

This page notes details of Floodgate Trap Hole (Trap Card/Normal) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
31st Main Box: Shark Fang
update 14/03/2020

Floodgate Trap Hole

Floodgate Trap Hole
TypeTrap Card
PropertyNormal
Card Effect TypeActivation requirement / Card effect
Passcode69599136
ArchetypesTrap Hole

text

When your opponent Summons a monster(s): Change that monster(s) to face-down Defense Position. Monsters changed to face-down Defense Position by this effect cannot change their battle positions.

How to get / rarity

PackGeneration Next [UR]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
Other--

Evaluation

RatingB+

Pros

  • It switches the Summoned Monster by your opponent to face-down defense position
  • The affected monster can't change its battle position.

Cons

  • None.

Tips

Monster Zone Lock

You can possibly lock your opponent's monster zone if he/she has no tribute monsters. Use Floodgate Trap Hole when your opponent Summons a Monster. Then disable the 2 remaining zones by using Ojama Knight's effect. You can then wait to get the cards that you needed or burn your opponent.

Rulings

The text "monster(s)" on Floodgate Trap Hole means that it can affect multiple cards. See these screenshots below for example.

The opponent used The Flute of Summoning Dragon to Special Summon 2 Blue-Eyes White Dragon on the field. Then the Floodgate Trap Hole prompt pops up.

Floodgate Trap Hole is Activated.

Both of the Blue-Eyes White Dragon has been switched to face-down defense position.

Decks

Classifications

ActionsChanges Battle Positions / Flips monsters face-down / Prevents Battle Position changes

Comments

Hot New Top
Anonymous
It seems like they will never limit this. Just get 3 copies.
not KoG
This Trap is very popular.
<< Anonymous(not KoG)
Anonymous Reply
yep
Luiz Carlos
Tenho uma dúvida!
Por que a Floodgate Trap Hole não se ativar após a resposta do Navegation Magician?
Lembrando que efeito da Navegation que "Invoque um Mago Negro na mão e feito isso chame mais um mago inferior ou igual do deck por campo."
<< Anonymous(Luiz Carlos)
Anonymous Reply
funciona com o flute of summoning dragon mas não funciona com os dois magos do mag. nav., nao sei por que
<< Anonymous(Luiz Carlos)
Anonymous Reply
Porque os dois monstros não são invocados simultaneamente. O Mago Negro é invocado primeiro e depois o outro monstro, diferente da Flauta, que invoca dois dragões ao mesmo tempo.
Anonymous
now more people can abuse this op card
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Waaaaaahhh waaaaaahhh
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I don’t think it’s op considering people do crazy combos you need something to stop them
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Yeah, this is kind of a "necessary evil" card
Gil M.
This card does not work to flip desperado barrel dragon when he is special summoned during the battle phase
<< Anonymous(Gil M. )
Floodgate Reply
Every traps cant work when your first summoning turn-_-
<< Anonymous(Gil M. )
Anonymous Reply
Floodgate Trap Hole cannot activate during the damage step
Anonymous
I've an issue with this card. The card effect description applies to 'monster(s)' as it can be one monster or multiple monsters. Back then when I dueled, it apply to 2 Dark Magician via Magician Navigation. Now only apply to last summoned monster.
Is there a new rule changing?
Anonymous
I hate this card.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
IF you main a red-eyes deck with slash and A/D changer, or a neos fusion deck with A/D changer, you could banish it and flip your slash back up.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
or your brave neos.
Anonymous
should be a limit 3 soon
Anonymous
always useful
not KoG
greetings from the UK.
Anonymous
Something weird happens against desperado... I'm not entirely sure if it works.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Please describe what's happening
Anonymous
So I found out the hard way that Subterrors can get around the effect of this card by using their Final Battle trap card and flipping their monster face-up again, even though that seems like a ruling issue since their changing the battle position of their monster.
Is that incorrect or am I crazy?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
It was always like that and not only with Subterrors
<< Anonymous
A Reply
"Monsters cannot change their battle positions" is a active form, so it means monsters cannot change their battle positions BY THEMSELVES.
If you use card effects to change their positions, it still works.
<< Anonymous(A)
Anonymous Reply
Also, if you attack into them, they would be flipped face-up, by game mechanic.

If the floodgated monster is flipped face-up due to being targeted for an attack, and it survives the attack, it then can change its battle position, as FTH's "no position change" part specifies that the monster has to be face-down.

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Popular pages

Duel Quest Event

Raid Duel - Dimensional Disaster: Buster Gundil the Cubic Behemoth

5 Billion Duels Celebration Campaign

31st Main Box: Shark Fang

Zexal World Release Campaign

Structure Deck: Gagaga Xyz

Upcoming events [December]

Decks to farm LDs

Booster packs

Available card boxes
The Ultimate RisingAge of DiscoveryNeo-ImpactFlame of the TyrantValkyries Rage
Wonders of the SkyChaotic ComplianceLand of the TitansCrimson KingdomDawn of Destiny
Electric OverloadEchoes of SilenceServants of KingsGalactic Origin
Blades of Spirit Primal BurstSelection Box Vol. 01Resonance of ContrastAbyss Encounter
Rampage of the ForestValiant SoulsVisions of IceSelection Box Vol. 01 MiniCrusaders Battleground
Clash of WingsBurning NovaEmpire of ScarletGaia GenesisStardust Acceleration
Power of BraveryBlackstorm RisingSecrets of the AncientsSelection Box Vol. 02Revolution Beginning
Tornado of PhantomsAbsolute InfernoDimension of the WizardsWarriors UniteLords of Shining
Blazing RoseGuardians of RockCybernetic RebellionCurse of DreadValhalla Calling
Dark DimensionSpirit of the BeastAerial AssaultSoul of ResurrectionFuture Horizon
Masters of ShadowJudgement ForceFortress of GearsTruth UniverseFlames of the Heart
Witchs SorceryChronicle of GloryInfernity DestructionArena of SanctuaryShining Hope
Voltage of the MetalShark Fang---

Card Trader & PvP Tickets

Card TraderRanked Rewards

Card Trader

Ranked Rewards

Structure decks

Structure decks
Sorcerers AllianceDragonic ForceHero RisingLegendary WarriorsDestiny Rulers
Dragonic KnightsSpellbound SilenceSynchro ConnectionThe White Dragon of LegendSwordbound Silence
Ancient Gear AwakeningNeos FusionReturn of the Red-EyesFull Metal DesperadoMaster of Chaos
Kings ResonanceDragunity OverdriveGladiators StormHERO GenerationReturn of the Fire Kings
Gagaga Xyz

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

Any news about the banlist?
Taking forever to have his unlock event
I don't think it's had any relevant showing since BUT Megalith got first place Stage 2 ...
Update: Okay so Mai does have a line with Ra, but Marik doesn't tell her she can't read...
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site