Content

Floodgate Trap Hole | Decks and Ruling

This page notes details of Floodgate Trap Hole (Trap Card/Normal) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
Alexis event guide!
update 10/10/2016

Floodgate Trap Hole

Floodgate Trap Hole
TypeTrap Card
PropertyNormal
Card Effect TypeActivation requirement / Card effect
Passcode69599136
ArchetypesTrap Hole

text

When your opponent Summons a monster(s): Change that monster(s) to face-down Defense Position. Monsters changed to face-down Defense Position by this effect cannot change their battle positions.

How to get / rarity

PackGeneration Next [UR]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
Other--

Evaluation

Rating9.0/10

Pros

  • It switches the Summoned Monster by your opponent to face-down defense position
  • The affected monster can't change its battle position.

Cons

  • None.

Tips

Monster Zone Lock

You can possibly lock your opponent's monster zone if he/she has no tribute monsters. Use Floodgate Trap Hole when your opponent Summons a Monster. Then disable the 2 remaining zones by using Ojama Knight's effect. You can then wait to get the cards that you needed or burn your opponent.

Rulings

The text "monster(s)" on Floodgate Trap Hole means that it can affect multiple cards. See these screenshots below for example.

The opponent used The Flute of Summoning Dragon to Special Summon 2 Blue-Eyes White Dragon on the field. Then the Floodgate Trap Hole prompt pops up.

Floodgate Trap Hole is Activated.

Both of the Blue-Eyes White Dragon has been switched to face-down defense position.

Decks

Classifications

ActionsChanges Battle Positions / Flips monsters face-down / Prevents Battle Position changes

Comments

Hot New Top
Anonymous 23days ago
So I found out the hard way that Subterrors can get around the effect of this card by using their Final Battle trap card and flipping their monster face-up again, even though that seems like a ruling issue since their changing the battle position of their monster.
Is that incorrect or am I crazy?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous 23days ago Reply
It was always like that and not only with Subterrors
<< Anonymous
A 23days ago Reply
"Monsters cannot change their battle positions" is a active form, so it means monsters cannot change their battle positions BY THEMSELVES.
If you use card effects to change their positions, it still works.
<< Anonymous(A)
Anonymous 22days ago Reply
Also, if you attack into them, they would be flipped face-up, by game mechanic.

If the floodgated monster is flipped face-up due to being targeted for an attack, and it survives the attack, it then can change its battle position, as FTH's "no position change" part specifies that the monster has to be face-down.
Anonymous 23days ago
Something weird happens against desperado... I'm not entirely sure if it works.
Gil M.
This card does not work to flip desperado barrel dragon when he is special summoned during the battle phase
<< Anonymous(Gil M. )
Floodgate Reply
Every traps cant work when your first summoning turn-_-
Anonymous
never gets old, ever lasting trap
Anonymous
Enemy summoned Aromage Bergamot. I activated Floodgate Trap Hole. He/she activated Aroma Garden. Their monsters gained ATK, etc. So Aroma Garden resolved mormally. Then the newly summoned monster didnt changed into facedown def pos. No "canceled card effect animation or whatsoever. My trap hole simply ignored and sent to the graveyard. Is this how this should work? Or how can I contact Konami?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
I do have the replay, and yes it was summoned using rose lover.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Try reading all of rose lovers effect
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Then that answers your question- Bergamot is unaffected by trap effects the turn it’s summoned by Rose Lover
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Oh crap... You're right. I'm using this card (Rose Lover) as well, since a year now or so, and I didn't notice it. Sorry for spamming.
Anonymous
*sees card* hmmmm
Gjjc
I was facing anki deck , they activate mask change , summon anki and I wasn’t able to activate floodgate , question didn’t pop up , then they activate another mask change and summon another anki then the question was popped up for me to use floodgate. So my question is why couldn’t I use floodgate on the first anki ???
<< Anonymous(Gjjc)
Anonymous Reply
Floodgate Trap Hole can only be activated if the last thing to happen was a Summon. Which wasn't the case here. (I'd guess they chained Mask Change to something.)
Pavs
How is this possible?
<< Anonymous(Pavs)
Pavs Reply
It did changed its battle position... wtf
<< Anonymous(Pavs)
Anonymous Reply
Yeah, FTH's description is not clear. It actually only stops you from manually changing the position. Any other card effect can still change the monster's position. Heck, even just attacking the face-down monster, removes that restriction, which is why attacking a monster flipped face-down by FTH is a bad idea unless you can destroy it with that attack.
Anusnymous
Lol. I use to buy packs ten by ten. Today I bought my first ten Generation Next packs and this little bastard poped up on 2nd pack xD
<< Anonymous(Anusnymous)
tickel Reply
hahaha sad
Anonymous
RIP reactor dragon
Anonymous
The point is those metas use it alot, don't tell me bs using it for anti meta.
Anonymous
Use this to lock an ancient gear reactor dragon and see 2 out of 3 players rage quit

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Popular pages

Duelist Challenge Event

Duel Quest Event

Raid Duel - The Netherworld Cometh: Wireqocha Rasca

Ranked Match Reward [December 2019]

Structure Deck EX: King's Resonance

24th Main Box: Aerial Assault

Dark Side of Dimension World appear!

Special Gift Campaign

Train Your Kuriboh! Campaign

Upcoming events [Dec]

Decks to farm LDs

Booster packs

Available card boxes
The Ultimate RisingAge of DiscoveryNeo-ImpactFlame of the TyrantValkyries Rage
Wonders of the SkyChaotic ComplianceLand of the TitansCrimson KingdomDawn of Destiny
Electric OverloadEchoes of SilenceServants of KingsGalactic Origin
Blades of Spirit Primal BurstSelection Box Vol. 01Resonance of ContrastAbyss Encounter
Rampage of the ForestValiant SoulsVisions of IceSelection Box Vol. 01 MiniCrusaders Battleground
Clash of WingsBurning NovaEmpire of ScarletGaia GenesisStardust Acceleration
Power of BraveryBlackstorm RisingSecrets of the AncientsSelection Box Vol. 02Revolution Beginning
Tornado of PhantomsAbsolute InfernoDimension of the WizardsWarriors UniteLords of Shining
Blazing RoseGuardians of RockCybernetic RebellionCurse of DreadValhalla Calling
Dark DimensionSpirit of the Beast

Card Trader & PvP Tickets

Card TraderRanked Rewards

Card Trader

Ranked Rewards

Structure decks

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

> Kiteroid IS kinda busted as a card This card does not fit in every deck.
In at least 2 Tag Force games, she plays Lightsworn.
In autumn/fall 2020, most likely.
Yeah, because the banlist hasn't hit yet.
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site