Content

Symbols of Duty | Decks and Tips

This page notes details of Symbols of Duty (Spell Card/Equip) : decks, tips, effect and rulings. Learn and enjoy playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links!
Duel Links Breaking News
Structure Deck EX: Return of the Fire Kings
update 12/10/2018

Symbols of Duty

Symbols of Duty
TypeSpell Card
PropertyEquip
Card Effect TypeCost / Card effect / Continuous-like Effect
Passcode78794994

text

Send 1 Normal Monster you control to the Graveyard. Select and Special Summon 1 monster from either Graveyard and equip it with this card. When this card is removed from the field, destroy the equipped monster.

How to get / Rarity

PackChaotic Compliance [UR]
The White Dragon of Legend [UR]
Level-up reward--
Victory against--
Card trader--
Other--

Evaluation

RatingB-

Pros

  • Can special summon any special summonable monster from either player's graveyard regardless of level, type, or attribute.

Cons

  • Requires a sacrifice of a monster that you control and it has to be a normal monster.

Tips

  • If your opponent's monster is a normal monster, you can use Enemy Controller to take control of it for a turn and use it as the sacrifice for this card.
  • In a gemini deck, it's better to use it to revive Blazewing Butterfly if you can normal summon it right away to special summon a gemini monster from the graveyard. This is to not make the revived monster susceptible to being destroyed if Symbols of Duty is removed.

Related cards

  • A token cannot be sent to the graveyard to use this card.

Rulings

Classifications

ActionsSends from field to Graveyard for cost / Equips self from field
Monster/Spell/Trap categoriesDestroys face-up Monster Cards / Destroys equipped
Summoning categoriesSpecial Summons from your Graveyard / Special Summons from your opponent's Graveyard / Equips to Summoned monster

Comments

Hot New Top
Anonymous
Symbols of Booty
Zero Credibility
...Which means any monster that can't be special summoned or has specific summoning conditions is off the table (although at least can summon those with only initial summoning conditions if they're already satisfied). Damn I was so hoping this would bypass that issue. I mean doesn't Monster Reborn have some small language loophole that allows that? (Like: special summon "any" monster...)??
Antaury
Why doesn't this card work with paleozoics? It states that when they're summoned they are normal monsters and not treated as traps? Explanation?
<< Anonymous(Antaury )
Anonymous Reply
Read text: "Send 1 Normal Monster you control to the Graveyard.". Dont work because Paleozoics are removed from play when leaves the field.
Anonymous
https://youtu.be/1RpJS9GfK8c
Anonymous
People don't know this is actually monster reborn but with a cost
<< Anonymous
Captain Obvious Reply
So what you're saying is... it's not like monster reborn at all then?
Anonymous No. 2
Can you send to the graveyard and then special summon the same monster (say, if you want to get rid of ATT reduction from a WoD)?
<< Anonymous(Anonymous No. 2)
Anonymous Reply
probably
Caesar
this card can summon God card from the graveyard. just saying
<< Anonymous(Caesar)
Anonymous Reply
Not Ra though, since it can't be Special Summoned.
Anonymous
Im sendiri the fuxking normar gamma to gravayerd, but i cant special summor valkyrion from my graveyeard?
<< Anonymous
Decode Talker Reply
1. Revive your opponent monster, not yours
2. You can only revive proper monster that allow to be special summon
Ngerti kon?
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
You cant unless you Summoned Valk through the normal means before sending it to grave
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Semi-Nomi monsters such as Valkyrion has to be Summoned properly first through the way described in its text, before it can be revived from the Graveyard.

All Fusion and Ritual monsters also fall into the Semi-Nomi category.
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
Wait, not all, I mean almost all Fusions.

There are a few Fusions that cannot be Special Summoned except by a Fusion Summon.
SAVAGERY
You can use this card to defeat Yami Bakura.. deactivate his Destiny Board skill :D and get dark Necrofear of coarse
<< Anonymous(SAVAGERY)
Anonymous Reply
Lv 30 yes, 40 no
<< Anonymous(SAVAGERY)
Anonymous Reply
In Lv 40, Necrofear wasn't propperly summoned, so she couldn't be Special Summoned fro the graveyard. In Lv 40, you can use it because the DBOD only triggers when necrofear is sent from the field to the graveyard, which means it was summoned properly.
Wreighn
Its broken. I tried to retrieve the Blue Eyes Ultimate Dragon from my opponents graveyard, and it couldn't see him.
<< Anonymous(Wreighn)
Anonymous Reply
Since you are saying your target was a BEUD, I'm assuming it wasn't summoned normally through a Polymerization? Then there's your answer: Unless summoned normally first, Fusion/Ritual/etc. can't be summoned from the Grave.
Anonymous
Card is broken against relinquished. When he steals your monster it destroys the symbols card but the monster stays alive. The card states when destroyed the monster is destroyed as well. Branch doesnt work against him either...
<< Anonymous
Anonymous Reply
the card states when removed from the field aka banished
<< Anonymous
Realm Reply
Remove from field, never was/is/Will be banished.
Remove from play was the old wording for banish but Duel link use the newer wording of the cards.
<< Anonymous
Realm Reply
This card destroy because there is no longer a monster for it equip to, at that point it's effect is not affect the monster which has become the equip spell card that it's not equip to anymore.
Anonymous
the bad version of monster reborn ..

Commens and feedback

Recommend

Ranking

Comments (updated every hour)

I think he meant the state of duel links as opposed to the scan that is DLM.
I'd say wait until stratos comes out. The deck doesn't even run well with 1 stratos, ne...
it may be free, but your salt is priceless
Nothing to mark, of course it will.
> Go to the latest comments

Popular Decks

Popular Cards

QA

Another Game Site